top of page

An Ode from My Less-Traveled Self


Even though I have never been to Copenhagen before, I already feel as though I am becoming a part of this unique culture. I have a handful of friends who already studied abroad in this sophisticated country, and thus Denmark and its unique components have been on my radar. One characteristic in particular is this concept of “hygge” (pronounced as hue-gah, because literally every pronunciation in Danish doesn’t come close to the way it actually looks). Hygge can be referred to as the act of creating intimacy—finding genuine pleasure in everyday moments, taking the time to appreciate your surroundings and living in the essence.

As cliché as it may sound, millennials as a whole need to find some level of hygge. We are consistently preoccupied by the impending doom of over-productivity, immediacy, and technology. I for one know that I let my actions sometimes send me into autopilot, and I suddenly begin to lose myself. We need to be more than just bodies or over-worked machines. Thus, it is my utmost goal to gain a better understanding of this concept while abroad, truly cherishing the moments spent in my new home, the treks to school, and any international trips.

Before leaving the states (ha, ha, I laugh that I already am saying this even though I am still typing from inside America), I made a list of goals I would like to achieve by May. While this blog will most likely turn into more of a photo journal, I thought for the shear sake of millennial conceit, I would publish them on this site, as a reminder to try and be my best self abroad. I know I cannot guarantee I will feel the happiest every day (I am still anxious about these low temps and high winds), I am confident that once I immerse myself in this new environment, a country defined by its high levels of happiness and sustainability, this little tree hugger and kale lover will just fall in love. So, without any further ado, here is my simple list of hopes and dreams.

1. Academically, I hope to maximize my experiences in all of my courses and maintain the same standards as I would at AU. More specifically, I wish for my communication and marketing courses provide me with a marketable set of skills to prepare me for a future in advertising or brand management. 2. While in Denmark, I hope to experience as many scenic locations as possible. In terms of travel, I would like to visit at least three new countries in Europe. (One of which must be London, cc: cel.) 3. Since I will be taking a Danish course at DIS, I hope to acquire at least a beginner level of foreign communication. 4. For my housing, I will be living with a beautiful family in a little village called Hareskovby. I hope that my time with this family will provide me with the ability to experience the country from a more authentic perspective. In the long run, I want to create a long-lasting relationship with my host family—one that remains even when I return home, and one that could be a resource if I returned to Denmark in the future. 5. In terms of documentation, I want to create some kind of multimedia curation of my abroad experiences. I will try my best to reflect weekly on my experiences and capture the everyday life of a student exploring Europe for the first time. (Hoping this blog, coupled with my new camera lens, will be just the motivation I need.)

until next time,

elle

bottom of page