top of page

greece + goodbyes // week nineteen

It was such a bittersweet goodbye. Saying so long to DIS, my new friends, the cute cafes and vegan havens, the botanical garden and modern art museums, the bike I'd been borrowing all semester from Malthide, my temporary bedroom, my beautiful host family, and the train (I loved that commute so, so much) was definitely the hardest thing I've had to do in my life. I had been looking forward to studying abroad since I visited AU for the first time in October of 2012. They really prided themselves on the percentage of students who chose to do so, and I knew I'd be a part of the group that kept the statistic high. Copenhagen became my home. I embraced the "hygge," supposedly even picked up a little accent when I said the word "okay," (just ask Nick), and found the greatest appreciation for biking, walking, and enjoying the outdoors, even when the weather was under 5 degrees celsius.

As I make my trek back to The States, I tried to cut down the number of photos I took in Athens and Santorini. Greece was by far the most beautiful country I was fortunate enough to visits (don't get me wrong-- Denmark is so, so beautiful, but in a different kind of architectural way). It was the farthest I ever travelled, and I was so happy to be embarking on it with two lovely girls I met at DIS. My skin hadn't fully seen the sun in at least four months, and I happily lived on greek salads for the four days.

Thank you AU, thank you DK, thank you DIS, and thank you Greece. I couldn't have imagined a better end to the semester.

--

here's just a little appreciation for the airbnb we stayed at in santorini (!!)

--

for the last time,

elle

bottom of page